Once Upon A Time…

As you can kind of tell from my blog style, I’m a unconventional person. I’m a fan of tradition, but I always love to find new ways to spice things up. That’s why I’ve decided to start telling on a new platform called Storify.

storify-logo
Storify Logo

Storify allows you to make stories using post from social media.
You are able to take people’s social media post into a compelling story. You’re able to mix tweets, videos gifs, URLs and photos to help covey your message. Storify allows you to add your own personality in your storytelling which really fascinated me.

For my first story, I decided to compile tweets and videos about the new PBS documentary on Maya Angelou called “Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise.” The documentary aired on PBS Feb. 21 and it tells the life of Maya Angelou with commentary form Lou Gossett Jr., Common, Alfre Woodard, Diahann Carroll, President Bill Clinton, Cicely Tyson, Oprah Winfrey, Valerie Simpson of Ashford and Simpson, John Singleton, Dave Chappelle and Quincy Jones. The documentary was produced in honor of Black History month and is a part of American Masters 31st  season.

mayaabgelou
Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise premiered Feb. 21 on PBS

In my story, I gave background to what the documentary was about, included the trailer as well as posted viewer’s options on the documentary. Storify allowed me to produce this story in a way that a normal blog or article couldn’t do. It added more versatility and was able to tell the story I wanted to tell with little to no words involved.

If you want to view my story, watch it here.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

