City Park Adventure

I never knew that so many stories could be found in such a small setting. For a class assignment this week, my classmates ad I took pictures in city park that told a story. At first I was a little hesitant to go up to strangers and ask for a picture.

IMG_4601I first wonder the park to see what I wanted to take pictures of. I noticed that a lot of my classmates were taking pictures of kids and people but I was still too nervous. I then thought that I would take “the easy way out” and take nature pictures because let’s face it, I don’t think I would have to ask a duck permissions to take a picture of it.

As I was walking down the pond area, I noticed a man fishing. I asked him for a picture and he said sure in a carless tone. Then it dawned on me, this wasn’t as bad as I thought. So i decided to tell the story of water activities to do in the park. IMG_4603As I continued walking I ran into 2 families with young children. One were feeding the ducks and the others were watching turtles. I asked them for pictures and they were more than willing to participate. I need up talking with one mom so long about my major and what I wanted to do after graduation and the other loved my pictures so much se wanted me to text them to her. I started having do much more and wanted to take more pictures but then realized it was time to leave.

The biggest lesson I learned from this project was that I shouldn’t be nervous going up to people I don’t know and don’t take the easy way out. I had a lot of fun and I think I could’ve done more have I just jumped right into the assignment. But don’t worry I still got some great photos! Make sure to check out my photo essay here.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

